è  DEUTSCH   è  ENGLISH   è  FRENCH   è  РУССКИЙ
search


The mystery of Omsk cathedral
Most beautiful church in Siberia

Omsk five-domed cathedral was built in 1894-98 and given over to believers on the 16-th of July-just note this date!.

The building was built of red brick and was plastered inside. It’s the only piece of work of Saint-Petersburg architect Wirrich on Omsk soil.

Assumption cathedral ranged among Russian masterpieces of Russian and Byzantine stylized design, such as Church of the Resurrection on the blood, Petropavlovsk Peterhof Church, Church of Madonna in Petersburg (V. Kosyakov), church of Saint Alexander Nevsky in Lodz (K. Maevsky), Church of the Transfiguration of the Savior in Nizhni Novgorod (P. Malinovsky), Cathedral of Our Lady of Kazan in Irkutsk (G. Rozen), Cathedral of the Annunciation in Harbin and was called at that time "the most beautiful church in Siberia".

Very often our church was compared with metropolitan churches – Moscow and Saint Petersburg ones. By the end of the 19th century Assumption cathedral had an inimitable style. The church was wonderful for the beauty of its frontage and lively colours, and had excellent acoustics. The building was erected mostly due to donations of the townspeople, Russian merchants and the Emperor Nicholas II who attended the laying of the foundation stone. The majesty of the church, polychrome colouring and beautiful décor made an imperishable impression on people who saw it.



The building being the town-building project was the dominant in the former Cathedral Square (now – the square near the Legislative Assembly). The cathedral was connected with activity of the outstanding martyr bishop Sylvester (I. Olshevsky) and the archbishop Andronicus (V. Nikolsky).

From destruction to revival
Since 1923 the church was abandoned most of the time. By 1933 the domes and the bells had been taken down to the needs of industrialization, and in 1934 all holy vessels were handed to a newly formed museum of atheism. Now they are on the list of lost things.

On the 16-th of July of 1935 the church was blown up, and its ruins were removed. The territory of the garden was redesigned for Pioneer garden.

In 1960-1970 a decorative pond, a small fountain with penguins and attractions for children appeared in the garden. Since 1949 the city New Year’s celebration has been held here, and in 1996 a colour fountain was put up here. In 1999 Veneration cross was erected in the garden.

Its revival occured also on the 16 of July.